Christmas Survey!

17 Dec

As far away as it feels, Christmas is NEXT WEEK (holy crap!) I found this Christmas Survey on Running With Spoons, so I decided to steal it (she offered it up!)

Before Christmas…

Do you send out Christmas cards?
yes, usually. we failed at that for the last few years and wound up sending them all at once! have them to send out this year – probably Thursday!

How soon do you start shopping?
I actually LOVE buying people presents, so I shop all year.

Do you have a lot of gifts to buy?
See above. I don’t have a ton but I find it really fun :) At this point I only have a couple left to get!

Do you bake cookies?
usually yes (and make candy too!) but we’ll see if I have time this year. grading has taken over my life.

Decorations…

Do you put up a Christmas tree?
yes! love our tree :)

If so, is it fake or real?
fake and pre-lit. so easy.

Do you like tinsel?
I do… but not at my house (it gets everywhere).

Do you use homeade or storebought ornaments?
mostly storebought now, though I want to make an ornament out of our wedding cake toppers this year.

Do you put Christmas lights outside your house?
I have them ready to go in the windows (so you can see them from outside) but I haven’t done it. Again.

Do you put lights on the tree?
see “pre-lit” above.

How about popcorn and cranberries?
on the tree? no.

Is there a wreath hanging on your door?
I have all the stuff to make one this year but I haven’t had time! We’ll see if I manage to make some before Christmas 2014.

Christmas Eve…

Do you celebrate it?
love Christmas Eve! growing up our big celebration was actually Christmas Eve, but it’s calmer now.

Do you hang up your stocking?

yes!

Have you ever left cookies out for Santa?

I did as a kid, yes.

Favorite…

Christmas Movie?

well my all time favorite movie is Love Actually, but I don’t really think of that as a Christmas movie. It’s a tossup between The Nightmare Before Christmas and Miracle on 34th Street (the new one).

Character from any Christmas Movie?

Jack Skellington.

Christmas Song?

Oh Holy Night or Do You Hear What I Hear?

Christmas Memory?
This is a tough one. Last year I was on my honeymoon in Sydney, which was awesome but didn’t really feel like Christmas (and it POURED all day.) One year when I was little (7?) I got a dollhouse. I had REALLY wanted a dollhouse and my parents got me a really awesome wooden one, and they couldn’t wrap it so they put a sheet over it. That said, I grew up doing Christmas at my grandparents’ house outside Chicago and I loved everything about it. I just can’t pick!

Christmas Cookie?
I like baking them better than eating them. That said… I always loved those butter cookies that are dyed with food coloring red and green (anyone else make those?)

This or That…

Give or Receive?
I love buying presents! Give.

Ham or Turkey?
hmm… Ham for Christmas.

Star or Angel?
Star!

White Lights or Colored Lights?
White lights.

Blinking Lights or Still Lights?
Still! When I was in junior high and high school in Arizona there was a house next door with blinking lights on a saguaro cactus (the one with the arms) every year. It was obnoxious and I could see it from my bedroom window all.night.long.

Were you Naughty or Nice this year?

probably in the middle.

Presents…

What do you want for Christmas this year?
this running medal holder, Oiselle lux layer, and money towards my crazy marathon goal. oh, and chapstick and fun socks… always.

When do you open your gifts?
I always want to open them Christmas Eve with stockings Christmas day – that’s what I grew up doing – but my husband makes me wait now.

What’s the best gift you’ve ever gotten?
The dollhouse mentioned above, for sure. I mean, I’ve gotten some other amazing gifts, but that was the best.

What’s the worst gift you’ve ever gotten?

That isn’t nice! Not answering.

Do you like wrapping gifts?

HAHA, I’m somewhere in the middle on this and I’m laughing because my mom hates it so much that she’s made me do it every year since I was about 13.

Random…

Can you name all the reindeer?
clearly, yes. (note: this now makes me think of Pretty Little Liars).

Have you ever gotten a kiss under the mistletoe?
not that I remember.

Do you go carolling?

Does that happen in real life?

Do you drive around and look at the Christmas lights?

I love to when I have the chance!

Have you ever had a white Christmas?
Yes, and I definitely prefer them.

Who do you celebrate Christmas with?
Depends on the year now that I’m a grownup – this year it’ll be my family, next year we’ll be home in Boston. When I was little it was almost always my mom’s family.

Have you ever had your picture taken with Santa?
As a kid yes, but I am NEVER taking my kid there. I won’t ruin it for you if you don’t want to know/if I haven’t already told you.

What part of Christmas do you look most foward to?
Lights, decorations, music… I really just love Christmas!

Anyone else want to join in? Cheryl? ;)

One Response to “Christmas Survey!”

  1. Amanda @ .running with spoons. December 18, 2013 at 9:23 am #

    I love that you love The Nightmare Before Christmas! I can’t decide if that’s more of a Halloween or Christmas movie, but either way… it’s one of my all time favourites :D And there must be something about girls and dollhouses, because that was one of my favourite Christmas presents as well. Thanks for filling this out, Jane! It was tonnes of fun to learn more about your traditions!

discuss here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

